Continuous Evaluation: Part 2

Yesterday I evaluated #blogjune based on my blog statistics. Today I’ll continue my evaluation with my thoughts about whether my main reasons for doing #blogjune have been realised. This year I decided to do #blogjune for the first time for two reasons:

  1. To learn if I could find something to blog about every day.
  2. To test the ‘less is more’ theory with respect to both the blog layout and posts.

Here’s what I think so far:

  • Finding something of value to blog about every day is challenging. Very challenging. I’m glad it’s only a month as I am already feeling weary of the self-imposed daily deadline combined with the ‘less is more’ approach to blogging.
  • I recently read an article that said Grand State University Library, MI cut 70% of a website’s content and no-one noticed. The article goes on to suggest reducing a library website to one page that focuses solely on the needs of your community; to scale back everything else until these fundamental needs are met. So I thought I’d test simplicity here. For this blog I removed all widgets except blog subscriptions and am appreciating the lack of clutter. I haven’t even added tags or categories to my posts and I don’t feel as I have committed some cardinal ‘librarian’ sin. 🙂 How has this affected you, dear reader? Have you noticed?
  • For my actual blog posts I wanted to also try ‘less is more’ with less text, less ranting, and less reflective posts. As a result I’ve ended up with a bit more visual and inquisitive with an occasional foray into inviting participation from others. It’s not exactly how I imagined, but I’m pretty pleased.

So I’m going to forge on until the end of the month and then see where I want to go next with this.

About Sally

Connecting curiosities for library staff through online professional development and gentle nudging. You can find Sally on Twitter and Linkedin.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

